For travellers who seek the finest that the world has to offer
 

How to maximise your annual leave in 2020

We all wish we had more time in the year to holiday. In today’s hyper connected world it’s more important than ever to take the time to slow down and disconnect, and sometimes it feels impossible to choose between that Mediterranean beach break you’ve been daydreaming about and that long weekend visit to see the family that you know is simply a must. However, with a bit of clever annual leave booking, you can maximise your days off so you can do both. It all comes down to planning ahead around existing public holidays and long weekends.

New South Wales

April

Nine days of annual leave for a 17-day break

Holiday period: Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April
Public holidays: Friday 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 14 April; Wednesday 15 April; Thursday 16 April; Friday 17 April; Monday 20 April; Tuesday 21 April, Wednesday 22 April, Thursday 23 April; Friday 24 April

June

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 6 June – Sunday 14 June
Public holiday: Monday, 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday 9 June; Wednesday 10 June; Thursday 11 June; Friday 12 June

October

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 3 October – Sunday 11 October
Public holiday: Monday 5 October (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 6 October; Wednesday 7 October; Thursday 8 October; Friday 9 October

December

Three days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period: Friday 25 December – Sunday 3 January
Public holidays: Friday 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 December; Wednesday 30 December; Thursday 31 December

Victoria

March

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 7 March – Sunday 15 March
Public holiday: Wednesday 11 March (Labour Day)
Days to book: Monday 9 March; Tuesday 10 March; Thursday 12 March; Friday 13 March

April

Nine days annual leave for a 17-day break

Holiday period: Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April
Public holidays: Friday 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 14 April; Wednesday 15 April; Thursday 16 April; Friday 17 April; Monday 20 April; Tuesday 21 April, Wednesday 22 April, Thursday 23 April; Friday 24 April

June

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 6 June – Sunday 14 June
Public holiday: Monday 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday 9 June; Wednesday 10 June; Thursday 11 June; Friday 12 June

September

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 19 September – Sunday 27 September
Public holiday: Friday 25 September (Grand Final Friday TBC)
Days to book: Monday 21 September; Tuesday 22 September; Wednesday 23 September; Thursday 24 September

November

One day of annual leave for a four-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 31 October – Tuesday 3 November
Public holiday: Tuesday 3 November (Melbourne Cup Day)
Days to book: Monday 2 November

December

Three days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period:  Friday 25 December – Sunday 3 January
Public holidays: Friday 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 December; Wednesday 30 December; Thursday 31 December

Queensland

April

Nine days annual leave for a 17-day break

Holiday period: Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April
Public holidays: Friday 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 14 April; Wednesday 15 April; Thursday 16 April; Friday 17 April; Monday 20 April; Tuesday 21 April, Wednesday 22 April, Thursday 23 April; Friday 24 April

May

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 2 May – Sunday 10 May
Public holidays: Monday 4 May (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 5 May; Wednesday 6 May; Thursday 7 May; Friday 8 May

August

For Brisbane locals: four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 8 August – Sunday 16 August
Public holiday: Wednesday 12 August (Royal Queensland Show)
Days to book: Monday 10 August; Tuesday 11 August; Thursday 13 August; Friday 14 August

October

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 3 October – Sunday 11 October
Public holiday: Monday 5 October (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday 5 October; Wednesday 7 October; Thursday 8 October; Friday 9 October

December

Three days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period: Friday 25 December – Sunday 3 January
Public holidays: Friday 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 December; Wednesday 30 December; Thursday 31 December

Western Australia

March

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 29 February – Sunday 8 March
Public holiday: Monday 2 March (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 3 March; Wednesday 4 March; Thursday 5 March; Friday 6 March

April

Nine days annual leave for an 18-day break

Holiday period: Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April
Public holidays: Friday 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday 13 April (Easter Monday); Monday 27 April (WA’s ANZAC public holiday)
Days to book: Tuesday 14 April; Wednesday 15 April; Thursday 16 April; Friday 17 April; Monday 20 April; Tuesday 21 April, Wednesday 22 April, Thursday 23 April; Friday 24 April

June

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 30 May – Sunday 7 June
Public holiday: Monday 1 June (Western Australia Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 2 June; Wednesday 3 June; Thursday 4 June; Friday 5 June

September

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 26 September – Sunday 4 October
Public holiday: Monday 28 September (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 October; Wednesday 30 September; Thursday 1 October; Friday 2 October

December

Three days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period: Friday 25 December – Sunday 3 January
Public holidays: Friday 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 December; Wednesday 30 December; Thursday 31 December

Northern Territory

April

Nine days annual leave for a 17-day break

Holiday period: Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April
Public holidays: Friday 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 14 April; Wednesday 15 April; Thursday 16 April; Friday 17 April; Monday 20 April; Tuesday 21 April, Wednesday 22 April, Thursday 23 April; Friday 24 April

May

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 2 May – Sunday 10 May
Public holidays: Monday 4 May (May Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 5 May; Wednesday 6 May; Thursday 7 May; Friday 8 May

June

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 6 June – Sunday 14 June
Public holiday: Monday 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday 9 June; Wednesday 10 June; Thursday 11 June; Friday 12 June

August

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 1 August – Sunday 9 August
Public holiday: Monday 3 August (Picnic Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 4 August; Wednesday 5 August; Thursday 6 August; Friday 7 August

December

Three days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period: Friday 25 December – Sunday 3 January
Public holidays: Friday 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 December; Wednesday 30 December; Thursday 31 December

South Australia

March

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 7 March – Sunday 15 March
Public holiday: Monday 9 March (Adelaide Cup Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 10 March; Wednesday 11 March; Thursday 12 March; Friday 13 March

April

Nine days annual leave for a 17-day break

Holiday period: Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April
Public holidays: Friday 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 14 April; Wednesday 15 April; Thursday 16 April; Friday 17 April; Monday 20 April; Tuesday 21 April, Wednesday 22 April, Thursday 23 April; Friday 24 April

June

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 6 June – Sunday 16 June
Public holiday: Monday 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday 9 June; Wednesday 10 June; Thursday 11 June; Friday 12 June

October

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 3 October – Sunday 11 October
Public holiday: Monday 5 October (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 6 October; Wednesday 7 October; Thursday 8 October; Friday 9 October

December

Three days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period: Friday 25 December – Sunday 3 January
Public holidays: Friday 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 December; Wednesday 30 December; Thursday 31 December

Tasmania

March

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 7 March – Sunday 15 March
Public holiday: Monday 9 March (Eight Hours Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 10 March; Wednesday 11 March; Thursday 12 March; Friday 13 March

April

Nine days annual leave for a 17-day break

Holiday period: Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April
Public holidays: Friday 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 14 April; Wednesday 15 April; Thursday 16 April; Friday 17 April; Monday 20 April; Tuesday 21 April, Wednesday 22 April, Thursday 23 April; Friday 24 April

June

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 6 June – Sunday 14 June
Public holiday: Monday 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday 9 June; Wednesday 10 June; Thursday 11 June; Friday 12 June

December

Three days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period: Friday 25 December – Sunday 3 January
Public holidays: Friday 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 December; Wednesday 30 December; Thursday 31 December

Australian Capital Territory

March

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 7 March – Sunday 15 March
Public holiday: Monday 9 March (Canberra Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 11 March; Wednesday 12 March; Thursday 13 March; Friday 14 March

April

Nine days annual leave for an 17-day break

Holiday period: Friday 10 April – Monday 27 April
Public holidays: Friday 10 April (Good Friday); Saturday 11 April (Easter Saturday); Sunday 12 April (Easter Sunday); Monday 13 April (Easter Monday); Saturday 25 April (ANZAC Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 14 April; Wednesday 15 April; Thursday 16 April; Friday 17 April; Monday 20 April; Tuesday 21 April, Wednesday 22 April, Thursday 23 April; Friday 24 April

May/June

Four days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 30 May – Monday 8 June
Public holiday: Monday 1 June (Reconciliation Day), Monday 8 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to book: Tuesday 2 June; Wednesday 3 June; Thursday 4 June; Friday 5 June

October

Four days annual leave for a nine-day break

Holiday period: Saturday 5 October – Sunday 13 October
Public holiday: Monday 7 October (Labour Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 8 October; Wednesday 9 October; Thursday 10 October; Friday 11 October

December

Three days annual leave for a 10-day break

Holiday period: Friday 25 December – Sunday 3 January
Public holidays: Friday 25 December (Christmas Day); Monday 28 December (Boxing Day falls on a Saturday so the Monday becomes the public holiday); Friday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
Days to book: Tuesday 29 December; Wednesday 30 December; Thursday 31 December

This article is a Signature Luxury Travel & Style digital exclusive. Be the first to see more exclusive online content by subscribing to the enewsletter here.